early retirement

early retirement

early retirement I finished my treatment nearly 4 years ago ( mastectomy, chemo & radio) I take Tamoxifen and will be changing to letrozole in January as I had a stage 3 grade 3 tumour with 7out of 14 lymph node involvement. I am a full time teacher but after 30 years service and everything that has happened I feel I have had enough. I have lymphoedema in my arm and back but thankfully no recurrent problems.
I would like to take ill health retirement so that I can have my pension and enjoy time with my husband.
I would love to hear from anyone who has taken ill health retirement.
Thank you. Pinklinda

Hi Pinklinda,

I too am a teacher (31 years service) diagnosed in Febrary this year have had lumpectomy - grade 2 with 10/11 lymph nodes affected and am taking letrozole. Not a brilliant prognosis which terrified us both, so my husband leaves teaching at Christmas and I have applied for ill health retirement. We made the decision that a life together was more important than long days,followed by endless evening meetings OFSTED, SEF forms, target setting, performance managment, Extended Schools etc, etc. - must sound familiar I’m sure!

When I contacted the NUT their advice was that you don’t automatically get ill health retirement for cancer - depends on the prognosis. I have severe oesteoarthritis as well so am making my claim based on both conditions.

When you get the claim forms you more or less have to chase up the medical advice yourself, which feels a bit like being stranded just at the time you need most help.

I should think that with your lymphodema you would have a good case, especially teaching in a Junior school.

Good luck - what ever you decide to do.

redsilver

I got it Hi pinklinda

I got early retirement on health grounds in August 2005…I was working in a new universiity and in the same Teachers Pension scheme as schoolteachers.