For Whiskas

Hello Ruth

You say you’re not able to read the latest messages on your other thread so as promised I’ve copied yesterday’s message into a new thread which you may be able to read. Best wishes - Anthi

Hello Ruth

I’ve just seen this thread and am sorry to read about your recurrence and that you’re facing a mastectomy. You say you can’t face implants - but what about the other kinds of reconstruction? Did they not offer any of those? - I have no personal experience, having had only a WLE last year but one of my friends has had a superb reconstruction - the sort where they use some muscle from your back - she is very happy with it.

About pain relief: when I had a hysterectomy several years ago I had morphine for the first 24 hours and was then given diclofenac suppositories which provide marvellous pain relief. After that I moved on to Tramadol pills which also helped.
Lots of luck with your operation.
Take care
Anthi x

Hello Anthi

Many thanks for copying over the message again - don’t know what happened to the thread seemed to have done a real tipsey turvey.

The only thing mentioned with regards to implants were the silican ones - I was not aware that muscle from the back could be used - I’ll have to have a talk about that with the medical staff.

I was also given morphine for the hysterectomy, it was then that I found out that my reaction to morphine was not good, so I am hoping that there will be an alternative pain relief.

At the moment I am really finding it so hard because all the dates I had previously been given have been and gone, and I am still waiting for confirmation of dates for pre-op assessment and the operation itself.

How did you cope whilst waiting for operation?

Anyhow many thanks for your kind words, it was great to be able to read them tonight - very kind of you to write.

Take care

Ruth x

Hello again Ruth