From DCIS to invasive - I'm terrified

I’m 57 and had a routine mammogram in July with no symptoms. After ultrasound and biopsy, I was told it was pre-invasive high grade DCIS and surgery plus 5 days of radiotherapy would be all that is needed. After my first surgery, 8mm cancer (grade 2) was found. I’ve now had second surgery to test sentinel lymph node and take more tissue. My cancer type is hormone negative but HR2 positive. I’m absolutely terrified it has gone to my lymph nodes or beyond. A 3 week wait for results and I’m imagining the worst… Every appointment I go to, the news just keeps getting worse. It’s now been 4.5 months since suspicious mammogram - all that time to spread. Can anyone in a similar situation offer me hope please?

3 Likes

Hi Sarah,
I’m sorry to hear what you have been going through during the last 4.5 months. This is my first time writing anything on the forum. I cannot help with information for you, but did read your post and wanted to say that I hope you have family and/or friends to listen and give you support at this time and there’s so much help on here. Have you got a BCN you can call? I’m at the early stages of this rollercoaster, just having diagnosis of intermediate DCIS (I had no symptoms) and a wide local excision is in December.
I wish you all the best x

4 Likes

Hi,
Sorry to read your post. I just wanted to reach out as I can understand what you are going through. I was diagnosed with intermediate grade DCIS in June after having an ‘exploratory surgery’ following 8 months of unexplained discharge from the nipple. I was breastfeeding when the symptoms first appeared and continued to do so (on the good breast) as I was told it was nothing to worry about and likely a growth in one of my ducts. So getting the news at the end of June was a huge shock. I had further surgery to get better margins in August, but results came back that it was more extensive than thought and I was recommended a mastectomy.