getting married while having treatment

Hi There
I am new to the post but have felt alot of reassurance from many posts on this website.
I have had a lumpectomy and a week and a half ago I went through another op as they hadn’t got clear margins.
I am going back for my results on Friday to get the results and hoping and praying that I won’t need anymore ops but just treatment. The consultant has said that I will definitely be having radio for six weeks and theres a question mark as to whether I will need chemo. The problem is I am supposed to be getting married on Saturday 30th March and am now not sure if I will feel well enough to go through with the wedding as well as having the treatment.
Can anyone tell me that went through treatment, how would they have coped, would they have postponed the wedding if it was them or would they have felt like going ahead with it. We have invites and things to send out but just really not sure whether we should postpone the whole thing until all my treatment is over.
Any help or suggestions would be really grateful.
Thanks

Hi

Before you decide I would get results out the way and try and press for an answer regarding chemo. If no chemo then rads won’t be much of a problem as will be done and dusted by your wedding date I would assume. They can also move chemo about slightly and help you out so you are ok for your big day.

Give the BCC helpline a ring I am sure they will have some thoughts on this.

Good luck with your treatment and your wedding. Take care

Wendy

I agree with Wendy, wait for results before you make a decision. Having had surgery, chemo and radiotherapy, I think you would be fine if you just had radiotherapy. If you have to have chemo you would probably be OK if it was towards the end of a cycle but I wouldn’t have wanted to much in the first week to 10 days of each cycle.

Good luck

Jane