How to tell / how much to tell children?

Hello ladies
I am fairly new to the secondaries side. I got my secondary dx late October with some bone mets and then 2 weeks ago got the second whammy of my liver joining in (in fact it had been iffy in November, but due to a few reasons I never got to hear about it then).
When I had my primary dx just over a year ago, I talked about it with my then 5 year old daughter. We read the book “Mummy’s Lump” and she did my lymphodeama exercises with me, drank my fresh juices and understood a bit about many of my treatments.
Now, she is obviously aware that I am not well and that I have had surgery to my spine and it is all breast-cancer related. She doesn’t know about my liver (but not many people do) and wouldn’t understand about it anyway as that is advanced biology for a 6 year old. But she does talk of doing things “when I am better”.
I know that we none of us know what the future holds and I sincerely hope that I get to join the Stable Mabels soon. but the reality is that I will be on Cap or some other drug for the rest of my life and the chances of me ever having the same energy levels/capabilities as her friends’ mums is pretty low. She is very understanding of me sometimes using crutches etc and I don’t want to scare her, but I do feel that sometimes I am “lying” to her. So, how much have any of you felt you need to share with any young children? And how do you tell them that mummy is never going to be completely well again?
Sue

Can anyone see this? Or do I need to bump it to make it visible?

Dear AmysMum

You may find it helps to talk this over with our Helpline staff. Opening times are 9-5 on weekdays and 10-2 on Saturdays. The number is 0808 800 6000. Calls are free and confidential.

Very best wishes

Janet

BCC Moderator

Hi Amysmum

We’ve also got a list of resources on this topic on our website here Search Results | Breast Cancer Now