How would i know my bc hasnt spread?

Hi i have recently been diaganosed with bc hormone neg but her2pos.
I am confused i asked my bc nurse how would i know if its spread?
She said because my nodes were clear. I keep reading that mets can transfer through
the blood system so dont feel that confident.
I also asked if they will check me regularly and was told i would have an
annual mammo. that doesnt seem much to me. Could anyone explain
what checks i should have please. Im new to all this and would value some info.
thank you x

Hi Lavendersun

Please feel free to call our helpliners to talk through your queries, lines are open 9-5 Mon-Fri and 10-2 Sat on 0808 800 6000

You may find some of the information in the following link useful too along with further support ideas:

http://www.breastcancercare.org.uk/diagnosis?utm\_source=Homepage&%3Butm\_medium=help\_you&%3Butm\_campaign=diagnosis

Take care

Lucy

Hi Lavendersun,

As you are Her2+ you will have chemo and Herceptin so that should kill off any stray cells. I had vascular invasion but no lymph nodes involved and when I asked my onc nurse she said she was definitely not worried about me having a recurrence because of chemo and Herceptin - which works for quite a while after final one - and I am on Letrozole to stop my body producing oestrogen as ER+. I am on a clinical trial so have to see the onc nurse once a year for 10 years and have blood tests too then to see if there are any changes from the base ones they took before chemo started. I see Breast Surgeon every 6 months, at the moment, and mammo every 2 years.

The only down side, for me, is that a niggly pain in my back which I would normally have ignored meant a trip to GP to get it checked out and all is fine. I try not to think about it but am trying to be sensible. However, I was diagnosed in September, 2011 not recently like you.

Take care and try not to worry (easier said than done, I know ). Wishing you all the best with treatment. Liz, x

Hi.