Just had surgery

Hi. I am new to all this…been trying to register for a while with no luck, but anyway here I am - another statistic!

I was diagnosed in August and underwent a mastectomy last Wednesday…one week later here I am back at home and feeling totally different to how I imagined. My care was excellent - and I am so glad I didn’t take the private route. I have had no pain and have found coping with the whole thing so much easier than I ever imagined.

I suppose I just want to say to all you ladies out there who are waiting for your surgery not to think too much into how you are going to cope…the uncertainty is much worse than the actual getting on with it and dealing with it. I felt relieved when my breast was removed…I was over the biggest hurdle of my life (so far) and it meant my tumour was in the bin, so to speak.

I am waiting for results now…chemo is my absolute nightmare, but hay…a month ago mastectomy had that title.

I don’t know if I have said anything much in this little ditto, but I know it has made me a feel a bit free-er from some of the things you can’t actually tell anyone without putting into words.

Home is just feeling great. Got back last night. Today I have given myself two targets…the first is getting in and out of the bath and the other is making myself sit down and relax.

My reward? A big glass of ice cold white wine before dinner…which, by the way, I fully intend to prepare for my wonderful family.

Thanks for listening x

Good for you, your comments are spot on. It is amazing how we do actually cope. Make sure you do sit down and relax tho’!
I had my surgery at the end of July and my second Chemo is due on Friday. I’m not looking forward to it but it’s been do-able and so long as it’s doing its job!!
Love to you and your family, enjoy your glass of wine!

HI there so glad that you have come through your operation and by the sound of it they didn’t remove your sense of humour,