Ld flap reconstruction

Hi all, i’m due to have a ld flap recon sometime in feb. I work as a gardener and really can’t afford to be off too long so i was wondering if anyone could share their experiences of how long recovery was? I’,m a single parent to a seven year old too so how long you were actually in hospital for would be useful , thanku x

I’m a secondary school teacher and went back to work in 5 weeks…I’m told that was good going. I had to be careful to not intervene in fights etc for a few weeks. Strength came back steadily. one job that still gets me is pulling down a heavy car boot that is over my head, with the effected arm…but I can.
Hospital for3 days.
Big job but worth the outcome.
I wish you all the best and mt thoughts are with you…my 6th anniversary was nov 13.
Sarahx

Hi Herbidacious.  I’m due to have a bilateral LD flap recon in March.  The surgeon says I’ll be in hospital at least a week and he said I’d be off work for about 3 months.  I was really encouraged by Sarah’s comments as I don’t want to have that much time off but I’m going to have to pay attention to what my body is telling me.  The op is going to take about 7 hours, with 2 surgeons working on me, so I would hate to spoil all that hard work.  I hope all goes well for you and you are pleased with the result xx

Dont rush it - is it your dominant side?  I have struggled because the lymph node removal has really affected my movment and strength in my dominant side.

I will now be off 4 months post op - because my job involves young children and a lot of lifting and carrying of resources.  If it had ben my other side, i may have goit back earlier - but my non-dominant side is so uncoordinated it is stupid!

Hi Herbidacious1

Here’s the link to BCC’s publication on reconstruction which I hope you find helpful

www2.breastcancercare.org.uk/publications/treatment-side-effects/breast-reconstruction-bcc7