LD flap, Tram flap or Diep flap. 33 yrs old with 3 small kiddies

I am new to this so I appologise.
My question is what is recovery like with these ops? My surgen is pushing the LD flap with small implants. I am not too fussed where the fat etc comes from my concern is recovery time.
I have 3 small children 4 yrs, 2 yrs and my baby will be 1 on 27th April. I need/want to be able to do as much as possible and as quick as possible. I have restricted movement in the right arm with having a total clearence (can not fully extend) so worried the LD flap will make it worse. This is the only one my surgen performs so if I choose another then I have to go to a bigger hospital.
He said that there are less complications with the LD flap and with the others you are more likely to need more surgery.
I have read the book and info given to me but would like to hear from people who have been through these ops to tell me how they felt and what were they able to do.
Thank you very much
Emma x

Still waiting for mine but thought I’d bump this up for you so it gets on 'latest ’ page.
Good luck,
Gaynor xx

bumpety bump

Hi, I had a mastectomy and DIEP reconstruction. The recovery is tough but doable. I was in hospital just under a week and was driving again in 5 weeks I think. You can’t lift your arm for a couple of weeks after. I am a horse rider and I had my surgery Oct 2011, I was riding again by Christmas. It was definitely the best choice for me. Good luck if you have any specific questions just drop me a pm.
x

Hi Emma
I had a DIEP reconstruction in February 2012. I was in hopsital for 5 days. I would say the first 2 weeks is the worst and I was pretty much living on ibuprofen, codeine and paracetamol to keep the pain at bay. I found the stomach area to cause me the most discomfort and I found it difficult to move around at first. But, I was driving and back to work after 6 weeks.