Lobular Breast Cancer

I’m having another go to ask BCC if it’s possible to have a separate category for “Lobular Breast Cancer”. I’ve been asking for a few years now - but to date no luck. It seems to me there are quite a lot of us lobular ladies using the website. A separate thread would be much more helpful and easier to find.

Thank you.

Jeannie

I’m with you on this, Jeannie as I’m a lobular lady too. From what I can gather, lobular cancers are often larger at diagnosis because they tend to ‘hide’ and not show up so well on mammograms, so there could be many of us who were not diagnosed until our cancers were of significant size. It would be very helpful if we had our own category to compare notes and offer or receive support.

Carol

Dear Carol

I was four years misdiagnosed with invasive lobular breast cancer despite asking for a mammogram on each occasion (3 times over a four year period) and showing anxiety about my symptoms - swelling, thickening and lumps under my right armpit. I was told my symptoms were nothing to worry about (remains of a viral infection)and I was not eligible for a mammogram as I was under 50. Some GPs are getting it seriously wrong and some guidelines do not even mention these symptoms as something to refer - the Scottish Referral Guidelines do because I campaigned for this ever since being diagnosed. Whilst it’s great to see so much publicity about breast awareness, it’s of no benefit if the GPs are not up-to-date with their knowledge on breast cancer and are not prepared to send you for further investigation.