Looks Like Cancer, Sounds Like Cancer

Hi everyone–so glad to have found this site.

I am 23yrs old and I just found a small hard, immovable, irregularly shaped, painless lump near the nipple of my right breast. I had an ultrasound today and I’m having a mammogram tomorrow. The doctor said there’s a 10-15% chance that it’s malignant. Is that high?

I’ve been doing all the research I can and I can’t help but think that it must be breast cancer. It sounds like cysts, fibroids, and other non-malignant tumors are different.

But I’m so young…Breast cancer does however run in the family. Both of my grandmas had breast cancer (but in old age–and both survived–though one did have a masectomy)
I’m beside myself with worry. I am an English teacher living in China…I’m far away from my close friends, my boyfriend, and family. The added stress of dealing with this in a foreign country is also overwhelming.

I feel like I can’t sleep or function/work until I get some answers…any words of advice or wisdom would be most welcome.

Even just reading words of support for other worried folks has helped a bit–so thank you

-sarah

Hi sarahlee, welcome to the forums

I am sorry that you have this worry, our helpline has an overseas number which you can call for further support and information, please call (+44) 2076 200 077, opening times are 9-5 weekdays and 10-2 Saturday (UK times)

You may find the ‘Worried’ section of the website helpful too, here’s the link:

http://www.breastcancercare.org.uk/worried?utm\_source=promo\_content&%3Butm\_medium=help\_you&%3Butm\_campaign=worried

Take care

Lucy

Sarahlee, I hope I can offer some words of support for you. 10 to 15% is very low. It means there’s a 85 to 90% (ie 8 or 9 people out of every 10) that it is NOT cancer. There are many benign conditions that show as breast lumps.