Mastectomy and Chemo - Terrified, DX Today

Hello everyone, I’ve been recommended to this site by a friend of mine, and I’m hoping I can get some answers and support here.

Found a lump in March, assumed it was a cyst as I’d had one in 2005, but have today had several biopsies from three lumps and one suspect lymph node.

Consultant extremely lovely, but says she’s pretty sure it’s all cancerous (poss not the lumph node which will be a relief) and that I will need chemo and a full mastectomy. This I find horrifying - I don’t even get to keep my nipple, which seems extraordinarily important to me. Is this a normal reaction?

My Mum had breast cancer last year at age 74, I’m 45. I’m currently studying at uni, and about to enter my third, ie graduation, year in equine science and drama (combined degree). I’m even more worried looking on the forum to see that chemo goes on for 6 months or so - is this standard? I thought it would be shorter. They are offering an immediate recon, which obviously I will choose to go for, but without a nipple for some weeks, I’m upset at the idea of a mound with no middle, as it were. I fully appreciate that I’m better off living with one breast than dying with both intact, and I know my partner will be supportive, but even so I’m finding this extremely hard to get my head round.