Mastectomy recovery time

Hello, this is my first post on here. Last week I was diagnosed with high grade DCIS in my left breast. The news came as a big shock and I’m struggling to process everything. I’ve been told that I’ll need a mastectomy as the DCIS is widespread. Yesterday I had a biopsy on my right breast to check for DCIS as my mammogram showed calcifications. So I might be facing a double mastectomy. I just wondered if anyone could advise on what the recovery is like after a mastectomy? I have a 5 year old son and I’m worried I won’t be able to look after him, take him to school etc. I have a very supportive husband and my parents live close by but I’m not very good at asking for help. Thanks for reading x

2 Likes

If it’s any help I’m waiting for surgery for double mastectomy it was postponed last week and I know exactly what you are going through. I found It helpful to speak to the breast nurse and volunteer at MAGGIES Centre at my local hospital. I will keep in touch if that suits you? X

1 Like

Hi @sdg23,

I’m so sorry to hear about your diagnosis. I was diagnosed in Jan 24 with high grade DCIS & a sneaky bit of invasive (I’m 44), widespread so left mastectomy needed. A small 6mm of DCIS found in the other breast aswell so I had mammoplasty on the right. I have a 4 and an 8 year old. Unfortunately, there was no lifting for a little while and hugs need to be gentler which my boys were brilliant at. I’m the same as you in regards to asking for help, but in this instance I would ask. You’re going through something horrible and people will want to help. Recovery wise, I opted for no reconstruction so I was up and about pretty quickly. Walking and gentle stretching (exercises they give you after) made a huge difference. I hope everything goes as smoothly as it can for you. This forum is incredibly helpful & responsive!

Sending virtual hugs. X x

2 Likes

Hi @sdg23,