My mum has triple negative breast cancer

Hi I’m new to this. My mum was diagnosed with triple neg breast cancer at the beginning of March. It was also an aggressive cancer.Her lymph nodes were clear. Chemo was advised first as the tumour was large, then mastectomy then radio. Before her second round of chemo on examination the tumour had grown it was decided to go ahead with the second round of chemo then check again before the third, if tumour had got bigger or not got smaller they would use a stronger chemo. Upon examination before third chemo the tumour had not got bigger but had not shrunk either, yet my mum felt that the tumour had got bigger. The oncologist suggested a third round as she liked to give chemo in 3’s.In the early hours of the next day (day of third chemo) the tumour broke the skin and it was found to be growing. How could the oncologist have missed this. Her third chemo was not given. A mammogram was performed and an ultrasound. She had a follow up appointment a few days later with oncologist at first oncologist thought she had, had 3 rounds of chemo. Upon examination she was told surgery would now be the best thing. So her 2 rounds of chemo were a waste of time all it had done was make her ill and loose her hair. The surgeon rang her and told her that surgery would be the option and that they would also take 2 lymph nodes out now as they looked “suspicious”. I feel that they have let her down and would like some advice as what to perhaps do, she has a meeting with her surgeon early next week before her operation. This is going to be a big operation and I have lost faith a bit. I just want the best for my mum as I feel that she has been let down. Thanks.

Hi Giz1