New Member in the Forums

Hello all

I have just joined the forums to gain an insight into how everyone feels and copes with having what you all call ‘bc’

I am an Office Manager, and one of my ‘girls’ was diagnosed 5 weeks ago and has just had her 2nd dose of chemotherapy. I am trying to give her the support she needs to get her through what must be a terrifying experience, I think being a member of this forum will help me enormously

What shines through the forum is your resilience, your willingness to share your thoughts and feelings and your sheer determination to beat the disease.

I will be returning on a regular basis to get ideas on how to help with ‘our Angie’

Best wishes to you all
EllieJ
X

Hi Ellie,

As a resident OH may I congratulate you on seeking information and ways of supporting your colleague, I sincerely wish my wife’s employers had been as caring as you.
I’m sure there will be plenty of fine advice forthcoming from the wonderful people here on the forum as well as messages of support and ideas to help.

Stuart

I think as an employer, and what you are doing is great. I wasn’t employed at the time I was diagnosed (4 years ago) but the only advice really I can give is go with the flow. She is still the same person she always was, go with how she is dealing with it, and adjust accordingly. Everybody puts on a brave face, but sometimes theres the odd crumble moment. Watch and learn and go with the flow really.
My employer now (the NHS) has been very supportive with all my surgeries that ive had for reconstruction and are fully aware of when I have check up dates and are prepared for the odd wobble moment which do still happen, although not very often.

Hi Ellie

Here is a link to the BCC financial and practical support and EMPLOY publications which you and Angie may find useful to read: