New Zealand

I looking to emigrate to New Zealand (Bay of Plenty region) next year (my profession is on long term skills shortage list and my prognosis is good).

I will be three years post diagnosis (had WLE, node clearance, Chemo & radiotherapy) and am currently on routine annual check ups. I have also been diagnosed with lymphoedema. I am on no medication (triple negative).

Does anyone have any info on New Zealand’s cancer and lymphoedema services? How do they compare to the UK?

Also any practical info regarding cheap flights, cheap and reliable car rental and cheap accommodation (for when I go out there job hunting) would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Adele

New Zealand Breast Cancer Foundation - www.nzbcf.org.nz try this site it may be helpful or at least lead you off to someone who can help you preferably someone living in NZ. All the best with the move…

Hi Adele,

I immigrated to New Zealand with my family 4 years ago and love it here. I am not sure, but I think you have to be clear of cancer for 5 years, but best to check with the NZ Immigration Service, it might be different if you are on the skills shortage list.

I can’t really compare UK treatment with NZ treatment as I was diagnosed here two years ago. I had bilateral mastectomies, immediate reconstruction, chemo and now hormone treatment. I have also just had a hysterectomy and oophorectomy. From diagnosis and treatment, right through to now I have received excellent care. People here seem to think that Australia is much better, but I don’t know what more they could have done to improve on my treatment here!

As far as treatment for lymphoedema goes, I think there is a shortage of places to go for treatment and there is a waiting list of 3 - 6 months depending on urgency here in Christchurch, it might be different in the Bay of Plenty.

I can give you some web addresses of forums for people wanting to find out more about moving to NZ if you’d like, just PM me if you want them.