Newbie here, mum has bc

Four weeks ago, my mum was recalled for a mammogram and told 2 days before she turned 60, that there was a small cancer there. They took a biopsy, and referred her to a consultant. A week later mum had surgery and when the consultant did the op, he found the lump was deeper than he had thought. And he was only planning to take a few nodes for biopsy, but they were enlarged, so he did a clearance. We went back on Monday to see the consultant and he said the good news was the nodes were clear of cancer and the breast lump was localised and hadn’t spread. But. It is stage 3 cancer and she will now need chemotherapy. We are all just gutted. The consultant had said at the initial app that radiotherapy was needed, and chemo wasn’t needed. Now after the op, it’s more serious. Mum terrified of what’s to come, and so are we. Thank you for reading this, any advice would be greatly appreciated x

Hi middle daughter, my mum was diagnosed two weeks ago today, she is in her late sixties. SHe has stage 2 invasive 4 cm tumour. We have been told at the moment they cancer is to big to do a lumpectomy so she is having special hormone tablets to try and reduce the lump, otherwise it will be a full mastectomy. We are still in total shock. She has been told she needs radiotheraphy but not chemo. We were not entirely happy with this diagnosis so she has been referred to the Royal Marsden and we are waitng to see what they suggest. I am like you in massive shock and the whole thing is so upsetting.

Hi Jules, I had read your thread, but didn’t want to hijack it.