Newbie with ILC & DCIS

Hi, newbie here. Diagnosed in July with ILC after first mammogram. No symptoms so complete shock. I’m 53 so menopausal & had just started to feel in control of my health & happily taking HRT, which I’ve stopped as taking Letrozole, & night sweats have come back! Few other symptoms, so feeling lucky really.
I was dealing with things ok as ILC is unifocal & small so was expecting lumpectomy with radiation, until was advised on Tuesday that mastectomy has to be considered due to low grade DCIS. It’s floored me & I am certain I don’t want such drastic surgery for DCIS when there’s a chance it won’t progress to invasive cancer. I haven’t had any surgery yet, & am aware that things may change again depending on the results. Has anyone been through anything similar?
Thank goodness for forums like this. I have so many questions & thoughts & it’s good to share them.

I am so sorry you find yourself in this situation. I think you should ask for a second opinion about your surgery, a mastectomy seems a bit drastic for low grade DCIS. I had high grade DCIS which had just begun to turn invasive and did not have a mastectomy. I had a wide local excision with therapeutic mammoplasty and sentinel lymph node biopsy to my right breast last September followed by radiotherapy in December and January. I recently had my first mammogram since the end of treatment and it was all clear, I still have my breast and it looks and feels almost normal.
My breast care team were very clear from the start about not wanting to over treat me. I know every case is different and until you have your full results nothing can be definitely decided but it does sound as though your team may be over treating you.
Please do try to discuss all the available treatment options with your medical team and tell them how you feel. I hope it all works out well for you and that in a few months time you feel as well as I do. Let us know how you get on.

1 Like