Newly diagnosed

Hi all,

I’m new to all this.

Was hoping not to find myself here but seems I’m the next one in my family to fall foul of this horrible disease. I was diagnosed last Thursday and seem to have crumbled from the confident, fun person I know into an anxious wreck. It’s comforting to read on here that I am not alone in this. Trying to work a bit but I have a decision to make about surgery option of lumpectomy or mastectomy in the next day or two and it really is difficult and causing my a lot of stress.  My surgery is planned for 30 April. No one else can really make at decision for me which I find exhausting and I would like to crawl away and hide but realise I have to face it all.

I think forward to the lymph results etc and I realise from reading the posts here that I need to keep calm and focus day by day and appointment by appointment and try not to look at what ifs…not so easy is it.

Tried to be normal and go to work…found it more difficult than I thought I would. Also went out with friends but that was a struggle. Am I acting normally? I’m hopeful that once treatment in under way I can start to try to move on a little more calmly and become stronger.

Any help appreciated

Thanks

Tropic_al

Dear Tropic_al

You are certainly not alone and are certainly acting normally. From everything I’ve read on this forum, all the emotions you describe are common with breast cancer, especially those of us newly diagnosed. We are all different and act differently at different times, but similar doubts and fears go around in all of us at some time. I also think it takes a great deal of strength to acknowledge how you are feeling.