Not sure what to do?

Hi All
I have been attending family history clinics for about 7 yrs after my mums sister (now deceased)was diagnosed with BC. My mum had a radical masectomy about 25yrs ago and my maternal great granmother died at a very young age, my mums first cousins have also had BC.

Last Thursday I had my routine 12 monthly Mamo and on Monday I got a call to say that something had showed on the Mamo and they wanted me back in today for a different view and a ultra sound.

After an anxious 2 nights I attended this morning when the lady told me what had showed up was right behind the nipple so the Mammo would be painful (oh yes) anyway. after that I had an ultra sound done by the Consultant Radiologist who then said to me ‘I am almost certain it is a cyst’!! I said ‘I want absolutly certain’ and asked how can you tell it is a cyst, to which he replied thats my job!!!

He went on to say that it looked like cancer on the mamo but he could tell from the ultra sound it was a cyst. I said what about a biopsy and he said ‘i can stick a needle in it if you want and i can drain it, but often they fill up even bigger’. he said you are being checked every 12mths, just keep examining yourself and if you are worried ring the unit,

Now although I am delighted with this news, my mum was told her cancer was a cyst(granted 25yrs ago) i dont feel as reassured as I think I should.

What do people think, and by the way I can’t feel the lump at all,
thanx

Did you tell the Radiologist that your Mum was told the same thing and had BC? I dont think that they used US on breasts in those days so perhaps that was why your Mum was misdiagnosed? I know that cysts show up differently on US as fluid shows a different colour to tissue. If you are worried why dont you call the unit and see if someone can help you? Perhaps you would feel better if they did drain it?

I am sorry I am not much help, but I wish you all the very best

Lynnette x

Hi Lynette