Poor sleep: Has anyone tried 5-HTP?

I received an e-mail about 5-HTP from an on-line vitamin company which I use. Has anyone tried this for poor sleep? Reading through the information, it mentions not to take it if you have any of various medical conditions including cancer, but further on it specifies undergoing chemotherapy, so maybe that is the only reason. If I was going to try it, I would consult my oncologist first but just wondered if anyone here has any experience of 5-HTP. I Googled it and found this useful link:-

5-htp.org.uk/

Ann x

Hi Ann

I’ve been using it for several years (not all the time) but I always have it in the house. I also recommended it to clients when I was working as a NLP coacf/therapist. I looked into it in detail at the time, I think as a chemical it’s one step away from serotonin. I usually buy it from H&B when it’s on offer.
It can be used for low mood in the day and if used at night it helps with good quality sleep. I always took it away with me when I was on courses in London as I needed to sleep but found sleep difficult in hotels.
There are some good books on it on amazon.

Love
Sue x

Thanks, Sue. I am also interested in it for my son who, like you, has difficulty sleeping when away from home. So, it works for you then? How much do you take and are there any side-effects? Are you on any cancer medication? Sorry for all the questions but I haven’t come across it before and need to know it is safe. I am on Letrozole. Do you think it would be ok for me?

Ann x

Just read your profile, so can see what you are on. Is your onc ok with it?

I am interested in this too as my sleep (once rmy strongest point!) is not so good - hot flushes with Arimidex , post BC increase in my arthritic pain ect.

I don’t find Nytol and similar herbal-type medication any good and obviously want to avoid sleeping pills.

Hi Ann