possible ibc

Hi all, would really appreciate some advice from those of you that have been through this.
Saw GP initially with an orange peel like rash on breast who referred me straight to a breast consultant. Had ultrasound and mammogram which seemed ok but showed thickening. Also had a biopsy and should get results on thursday. The consultant did seem quite convinced that it was ibc but also said that the biopsy may not show anything and that I may need another one. Does anyone know why this is? Surely if there are cancerous cells then these would be shown up?
Waiting is the hardest time and we would all just rather know so that I can focus on a treatment plan.
Any help or advice that anyone can give me would be so appreciated.

Thanks juju

ah, just found this, i answered your second post. Did not spot you said ibc.

I am not an expert at all, seems like he recognises ibc from the appearance of the skin, but it is early so there is nothing showing on the scan and as I said before he might not get a good result from the firt biopsy and need to try again.

Its a rare cancer, so it might take some time before someone who knows better than my comes along. You might want to ring the helpline tomorrow, they will certainly know more

Hi Juju

I was DX with IBC nearly 3 years ago now. The symptons which sent me to the GP were a very swollen hot red breast with strange skin (I now know what they call orange peel)

At the Breast clinic I had biopsies of my breast but I do remember the person doing it saying that it was difficult to know exactly where to insert the biopsy gun - it was a very hit and miss affair. For that reason she took several in different places. If it does turn out to be IBC don’t worry if the suggested treatment plan is chemo first. That’s normal.

Ask anything you want - I will try and answer- pm if you prefer- - the waiting is one of the hardest parts of all this

Take Care

Andie