post op bath

hi
im almost 3 weeks post op mx and anc, suffering with cording but generally ok, scar healing nicely, fluid being drained x2 weekly. i have been using the shower but i’m a bath person and i want to fill my tub up and lay in it, how nice would that be!
will it be ok, or should i stick to the shower?
its one of those things that i keep forgetting to ask the nurse when i talk to her.
thanks, angie x

Hi Angie, I am just over three weeks and can understand the temptation of the deep bath (accompanied by a good book!) but I thought it wasn’t a good idea because I think you are then putting dirty water onto your healing wound (not that I am saying you are dirty but you know what I mean, water that has cleaned dirt from elsewhere on your body!). Plus, I don’t think it’s good for it to get soggy. I am no expert so would suggest checking with BCN first.
I am interested that you are having fluid drained. I think the reason I am struggling to wear a bra is that when I do all the fluid gets pushed up under my armpit. I’m not sure it’s getting any less but I haven’t asked about whether I should have it drained - think I will tomorrow.

hi nextstep
i resisted the urge for a bath for the reasons you mentioned, had a shower instead. yea, i get drained every 4 days and my bra also pushes the fluid into one area under the arm, i know when it needs done, it feels full and a bump appears at the breast area. the last day is quite uncomfortable but as soon as its drained and its empty, that also feels uncomfy for the bra for a little while. activity seems to fill me up more but then again that could just be my imagination, i would get it done if its bothering you but if not i would leave it. my macmillan nurse who does this only wants to see me if theres plenty to take off.
angie x