Recently diagnosed mum

Hi I’m new to this and I’m posting because I am at a loose end today as my mum is having her first op and I’m not able to go with her (overcrowding in waiting room apparently) She was diagnosed on 14th Dec after we spent the whole day of her being prodded and poked lol bless her. This is the only appointment Ive not attended (not for lack of trying) and I’m worried sick as it’s the most important appointment thus far. Is there a forum that isnt just for partners because my dad is useless when hes worried and so I’d like advice on how to support him and my brother. They havent taken the news very well and my mum cant be strong for everyone (even if she wants to). I feel really hopeless because my mum has always been and will always be the center of the family and our rock. I want to at least be able to take this burden from her.
Gemma from Manchester

Hi Gemma

What a lovely daughter you are. My own daughter (22) has also been a massive support to me, so I’m sure your mum really appreciates it.

This forum isn’t just for the person with cancer and their partners, I’m sure there are quite a few sons and daughters who have registered, hopefully they’ll be along soon.

The best thing to support your mum is to reassure her that you’re trying your best to support “the boys”, that will take a lot of pressure off her. You should also find a source of support for yourself, as you need it too. Whether that’s offloading to close friends or coming on here and having a rant or a moan or a sob, all are fine. And tell your mum that you are also getting the support you need.

For today, you might be able to keep in touch with the ward by phone to find out when she’s due back from theatre and ask if you can wait by her bed. My lovely girl did that, and I was so happy to see her, particularly as she came with a sandwich and I was starving!