Reconstruction

Hi, Has anyone out there been pleased with there reconstruction? Im due to have a Latissimus Dorsi plus a inplant. Its been over a year since my mx, and finished chemo March 2011. Would be greatfull for some feed back. Due to have this done within the next 6 weeks.

Hi Tiger,

I had mx and axillary clearance in Dec 2006. I thought I would manage with a prosthesis, but I hated it. As the years passed I thought more about reconstruction. I saw a plastic surgeon and he decided to do a Tram Flap reconstruction. I went ahead with the op in Dec 2010. It was a big op, 10 hours, the biggest hurdle was getting over the aneasthetic. I am not very good with them. My op went very well, with excellent results, pain actually wasnt too bad, just a few days on strong painkillers, then onto paracetomol. I am very glad I had the op. I am due to have an uplift on the good side. Though their is really only a small difference. My plastic surgeon was very good. Best thing I have done, makes me feel a lot better about my self.

Any questions please feel free to ask.

Hope this helps

Carolyn x

I had an LD reconstruction with a small implant in May this year and I’m very pleased with it. Big operation but to be honest I can’t say I was in any pain, discomfort for a few weeks but no pain. It’s very important to do your arm exercises to get full movement back. I didn’t drive or do much (except arm exercises) for 6 weeks and I’m sure that aided my quick recovery. I now swim 30 lengths 4 times a week, go to the gym attend a yoga class and go to spinning classes. I have still to get my nipple reconstruction done but hopefully I won’t be waiting too much longer.

Good Luck.

I had an Ld recon with implant last year, nipple & tattoo done this year. Brilliant, would recommend it to anyone.

i had ld flap with expander in april,just had inplant and i love itx