Recovery after diep flap reconstruction

Hi guys I’ve not really used this forum but I am looking for some support. My background is, diagnosis in August 2015 and started chemo in sept 2015, mx in January 2016 followed by radiotherapy in March.  

I have just had a diep flap reconstruction and the pain is incredible.  I know I only had it on 9th November and the results are fantastic but I would like to know how to best look after my scars and how long recovery has been for other people.

i know it’s early days but I sometimes ask why did I do this, I feel as if the skin on my stomach is about to split across the middle. I had only just recovered from the mx and now feel 100 steps backwards. 

I am discharged with no morphine and feel my body has now gone into shock.

i would love to hear your advice and hear how well people are after this op…

helen

xx

Hi Helen. If you’re in pain you should get some stronger pain relief as your surgical team wouldn’t want you to be suffering. It is very early days so please be gentle on yourself and allow time to heal. I’m 6 weeks post TUG reconstruction where they used my thigh and for the first 3 weeks I shuffled along at snail pace, couldn’t pick anything up from the floor, put my shoes on and struggled to get dressed. Things got a little easier in week 4 despite an infection in my donor site. Week 5 saw me pretty much back to normal and I returned to work this week. I was given a brown waterproof tape to put on my scars and change weekly and have only just stopped wearing it and started massaging my scars with bio oil. I’m still wearing my bra to bed but have finally ditched the cycle shorts which I wore 24/7 for 6 weeks. Are you wearing support underwear?
Keep thinking long term instead of short term and the next few weeks will soon be a blur in the past. X

Hi Lambo