Side effects of radiotherpy

Hi I am new to asking questions etc. But I had 5 rounds of radiotherpy and finished it just over 2 weeks ago. I am struggling with such an itchy sore boob and the snb scar under my arm is so red lumpy and itchy too. I am using an emollient twice a day . I cannot wear a bra as it makes under my arm scar so sore and itchy. Does anyone have any advice as to what else I could use and how long these side effect will last please. It’s driving me crazy. Would anti histamines . Any advice please

3 Likes

Dear Mazza21

So sorry to read you are feeling so uncomfortable after radiotherapy treatment, unfortunately as it’s the weekend you may have to wait until Monday when you could call your breast cancer nurse or the radiologist for advice.

However I don’t think anti-histamine would do you any harm (I’m not medically trained) so maybe call 111 if you need information before Monday.

Wishing you well going forward

Love Tili :rainbow::pray::rainbow::pray:

2 Likes

Call the breast cancer now nurses or McMillan nurses (UK) if you don’t have an out of hours number for your team, or try calling your radiology technical team.
I had radiation dermatitis on my back post palliative rads to spine and I used over the counter hydro cortisone cream - pharmacist could advise, until I could talk to team and then I needed some slightly stronger prescription hydrocortisone cream to calm it down.

1 Like

Hi @mazza21

So sorry you are going through this . I had a lot of itching between my breasts and under my affected boob which lasted quite some time though eased gradually . I moisturised 5 times daily , even so the skin around my areola and nipple became scaly and dry and all flaked off but didn’t break down . My breast looked and felt sunburned in those areas too . I have heard that Aloe Vera gel can be helpful for itching especially if you put it in the fridge so it’s extra cool. It sounds like your breast may have become a bit swollen as well .