started chemo jan 2021

hi folks

My name is Ruth and i started chemo at the christie hospital in mcr on the 13/01/21 i felt terrified

my oncologist has me stage 2  grade 2 with lymph nodes three affected tumour size 37cm 

but my surgeon has me grade 3 im er positive her 2 positive

Had three chemos one cancelled due to allergy to taxo so now on n taxol

ive got to have 15 more sessions of chemotherapy then surgery then radiotherapy then herceptiin

Im a nurse and im scared really scared ive lost two stone with stress 

can i ask do people thimk 3.7 cm is big and can chemo clear the lymph nodes i have bupa cover which has been its weight in gold

westie ruth

Hi @WestieRuth   - so sorry you are feeling so bad, I’m a nurse too and it can be unhelpful to have some knowledge, can’t it? Just in terms of the size, I think that my tumour was 3.5cm, so a similar size. My treatment is different from yours, I had surgery first and am now having chemo. The surgeon said that they got all the tumour out (I also had a DCIS, so had a total mastectomy) with good tumour margins. They didn’t seem to think that mine was particularly big. It is Her 2 positive  which obviously means it is more aggressive. Presumably the plan is for the chemo you are currently having to shrink the tumour anyway? It’s an awful cliche I know, but the only way I have found to manage the anxiety of all this is to take it in very small chunks, otherwise it becomes too overwhelming. The other thing I found helpful was to write down (quickly, without considering it too much) what I was frightened of. I discovered that much of that was to do with my own ‘performance’ as a patient. You may not find this, but I seem to have this sense that, because I am a nurse, I need to be some kind of star patient. Daft of course, as most of us know that being  in the profession usually makes folk worse patients…