Starting Rads in July 2012

Hi
I’ve just been to the hospital today for a CT scan to plan my rads treatment. I shall be starting on 9th July & wondered if there are other ladies starting in July who would like to join me here & hold one another’s hands in a virtual sense. Although this is a recurrence for me after 6 years I never had radiotherapy first time around so I’m a newbie where this is concerned.
Met the staff at the unit ( and I should clarify now that my treatment is private due to my employer’s medical insurance so my experience may differ slightly to those treated on the NHS) & they all seemed very nice & friendly. I have opted to strip in the treatment room rather than change into a gown beforehand ( have become very blase about nudity now…lol). Had to lie on a weird contraption whilst they made various marks on me ( which will wash off eventually) & then had 3 small tattoo marks ( centre, left & right hand side) to line me up with the machine each visit. These are permanent but very small. I have to lie with my arms above my head but felt very comfortable. In fact I started to nod off whilst they did the scan…thank goodness not enough to start snoring though!

Been told aqueous cream in king & to wash with Simple soap. No under arm shaving ( removes layer of skin) & only use special deodorant on rads side with no metallic content. Drink lots & rest lots. Peak effect on body two weeks after treatment finishes ( I’m having 15).
Feeling a little more reassured now I’ve visited. Two weeks more to get over chemo as much as possible (final Tax was last Monday but currently still fighting an episode ofcellulitis in my lymphoedema arm.
Twinky x

Twinky ,
Love the pic of the rabbits , Are these the ones that live under the bed ??? you have not spoken about them recently .
Looks like we are the only two people having rads in July