stopping my arimidex

I’ve mentioned on here before about the side affects I am getting from arimidex but this week it’s got pretty bad. Had sore and aching joints all over for a few wks. Was given the option to come off pills to see if things improved but declined. 2 days ago after a few days of all over pain, I started getting pains in my hands too. I’m an artist and found this very depressing to say the least. On top of all that I am also extremely stiff.

Exercise makes no difference, had a 4 mile walk today with friends, and looked like old mother hubbard stooping to get into the car afterwards. I am only 49 by the way.

Have been taking cod liver oil, no change, then glucosamine, no change.

So yesterday I took myself off the pills. I will ring my gp tomorrow to see if she is available on fri. By then I will have been off them for 7 days. I am hoping she will refer me back to the oncologist, but already know that he may offer me tamoxifen and there is no way I want to go on that, I struggle with my weight already for one thing.

Then there is the prospect of taking nothing. My physical health may improve, but I will then have the increased risk of the cancer returning. I am in a big dilema to say the least. Has anyone else out there come off arimidex because of joint pain? I would like to hear how you are getting on, and what was offered as an alternative.

Irene

Hello Irene

I’m on Aromasin/Exemestane - which is another aromatase inhibitor and does the same job as Arimidex. I do have some side effects - hot flushes, dreadful sweats and some stiffness, but so far my side effects are not bad enough to make me seriously consider coming off the drug. I believe that generally people have fewer side effects with Aromasin than Arimidex.
Why not ask your GP/Onc if you can try it?
Take care
Anthi x

Hi Irene -