Struggling Friend....

Hi, I’ve recently made a new girl friend, we both have children who are 2 years old. She was treated for BC and was told she probably find it difficult to conceive… she now has 2 kids (2 and 15 months) and has been cancer free for (I think) 4 years. Recently, she has been very down, teary, anxious and worried about her relationship with her husband. She feels unable to cope and overwhelmed… I’m not a trained professional so all I can do is listen. Today she mentioned that since the cancer she is no longer herself, that the cancer took something from her…maybe she hasn’t dealt with the fact she had cancer?? I just dont know! So… I would like to help her find a support group online so she could fit it in with/around the children…Can anyone point me in the right direction? Am I doing the right thing? will she think I don’t want to listen and fobbing her off to professional help? Why is her husband not helping her? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Worriedfriend5

You’ve come to the right place. She’s lucky to have a friend like you looking out for her. Fighting breast cancer is more than just a physical battle & often the mental battle comes after all the physical treatment. It can be sort of like post traumatic stress disorder , a delayed reaction to all that she went through. Her husband will have had his own battle on his hands from diagnosis through treatment etc, trying to be supportive but also struggling to cope himself so he may not be in the best place himself right now. As well as forums on here for life after cancer there is also the helpline to talk to someone on a confidential basis and get some support & advice. If you think she’d run from seeking professional counselling then this site is a good place to start trying to come to terms with it all & find others who have come through similar circumstances. I hope you can persuade her as she’s not alone with the way she feels.

Twinky x