Tamoxifen chills!

Hi All

I have been on the tamoxifen for approx 6 weeks now and the only side effect I seem to have is horrible chills! They start late afternoon and continue through the night!!! The hot flushes and night sweats started at the end of my last chemo - and to be honest do not seem any worse since starting the Tamoxifen. But the chills are not funny!! They come on as quick as a hot flush but last for hours! I can also flip from shaking cuz I am so cold to boiling in seconds!! This is driving me nuts!

Has anyone else suffered the same?

I am going to crawl under a very large and very thick blanket! Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

Bird
xx

I’m no scientist or medic so I can only speak from my own experience. I have certainly had “hot flushes” with Tamoxifen. The only ‘chills’ I have experienced have been from waking up (pardon the expression) having been sweaty in the night to suddenly find myself cold.

Try mentioning it to your breast care nurse or GP.

AlexG

been on tamx for 6 days pre op, i suffered sickness which came over me in waves, no sweats yet but not sleeping well. I do have chills just thought is was my nerves. Its all been a bit of a shock dx 3rd feb. Have to stop taking it a week before op… advise welcome.

Hi Bird - I don’t get quite such violent chills as you seem to be experiencing but if I get cold it takes about 2 hours to get warm again using blankets and hot wheat bags. Get night sweat sometimes and like you these started during chemo and do not seem much worse with Tamox although drinking wine defo. has an effect; the cold episodes also started during chemo. My theory is that the chemo affected my internal thermometer so my body gets confused! (Of course this is just my tiny brain trying to make sense of what is happening and has no scientific basis whatsoever - LOL) Marli