Tamoxifen

I am a newbie to the site although I had my op. in April 2009 WLE & SNB. I had been looking up info on the NHS Site before.
I start Radiotherapy next week until 7/Aug. (every day except for w/e’s). Its a bit daunting, I must say. But reading all the excellent tips and writing them down now e.g. puting the cream in the fridge, fan for cooling down.
I have had to start taking Tamoxifen tablets - can anyone tell me how long will it be before I start getting hot flushes. When the BC nurse rang, she seemed to think that they would start quite quickly.
I started taking them on 29th May.
I suffer from Rheumatoid Arthritis too, this attacks the joints. I have it quite bad in my hands. So am on other medication to control this.

Perhaps one of you wonderful ladies would be able to answer my questions.

hi whirlwind - me too, I start rads next thurs 9th until aug 10th and have been storing tips!! I have to start the tamoxifen then too - my friend takes it at night so I’ll try that, she finds she has flushes and joint pains esp in the am (pains)so not looking forward to it all…mary x

Hi Kittenkat,
Sorry for the delay in replying didn’t realise that my comments had actually been printed.
I started taking the Tamoxifen on 29th May afer having my op. on April 24th. Have I read your letter right, that you haven’t started yet on the Tamoxifen, did you have different advice to me to start taking it when you start your Rads.
Have you had an op. recently?
Prior to having my op. I was on the mini pill because of my size had to take two tablets every day (no weekly breaks)but I didn’t have a period either, had to stop taking the mini pill on 6th April as advised to do so but I still haven’t seen a period.
Perhaps someone can advise me re: periods and Tamoxifen.
Many thanks.