Teachers' sick pay

Hi everyone,
Just wondering about my sick pay. I know as a teacher I get 6 months full pay then 6 months half pay plus statutory sick pay.
I’m also aware that sick pay entitlement resets every April 1st.
I had 6 weeks off in January and February and then returned for 2 weeks. My second absence was in late march and included the easter break. This was for a second operation. I’m told that because I was off on 1st April, that the absence counts as last year. I need to return before my new year’s entitlement restarts. I’m returning in a week or so. Will my sick pay reset? I am expecting to start chemo soon and need to be back to the full entitlement or I will struggle financially.
Dies anyone know? Thanks all.

Hi

I also work in school. I have been off sick since last May as I’m still in treatment. I had 6 months full pay and 6 months half pay. I had been ill in the January 2023 with pneumonia and was off for 4 weeks, that was counted as sick in a 12 month period, there was no mention of reset in April.
As the first 6 months ended I was at the end of the statutory sick pay so had to apply for Employment Support Allowance (ESA) and had already applied for Personal Independence Payment (PIP).

It seems different schools and local authorities have different policies.

I have since applied and been accepted for redundancy as I don’t believe I can continue with the side effects of my treatment.

It would be interesting to hear others situation.

Take care :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: