Therapeutic mammaplasty recovery

Hi, I’m having a therapeutic mammaplasty with contralateral reduction next week. I had a large HER2 +ve tumour, with very good response from 6 months of neo-adjuvant chemo (EC + Paclitaxol and Phesgo). I’m just beginning to feel a bit more human again after finishing chemo 4 weeks ago, but now i am nervous about the opration and being incapacitated again. The BCN and a friend have been very helpful about what to expect, but would love to hear from any of you guys about your experiences of recovery, preferably positive ones!

3 Likes

:heart: I had a therapeutic mammoplasty. Rest up allow things to knit back together, be vigilant if anything’s concerning you post op ring your team :heart: do your exercises, you could get some sticky dots tgat you can put up the door frame so you can see your progress :heart: no lifting anything heavy :heart: you’ll be surprised how quick your body will repair :heart:hope that helps a bit. I had a bra with a zip front and racer back from M&S which was comfortable, I went up a size from 36 - 38 to allow for any swelling :heart::two_hearts::two_hearts::sparkles::sparkles:Shi xx

1 Like

I had therapeutic mammoplasty 8 weeks ago followed by a cavity shave three weeks ago. Recovery has been a lot easier than I expected! The main thing I struggled with was sleeping on my back for four weeks, but I bought a V-shaped pillow and made sure I was properly supported. I can sleep on my sides now - bliss! The arm exercises are absolutely essential, I thought they were just for recovery from the node removal, but they definitely help with the boob too…I can tell if I haven’t done enough exercises as it starts to feel ‘tight’. (I did the exercises religiously for the first six weeks and then slacked off…I’m back to doing them regularly now, they dont take long and I’m just going to keep up with them for as long as I feel they’re helping). Then just make sure you avoid heavy lifting and repetitive movements etc.