told i cant have herceptin

can any one help ??
I have been told i have HER2 pos and had the lump removed in april
I saw the oncologist 2 weeks ago who put me on hormones for 5 years told me i would rads for 3 weeks followed by 3 boosters she then said i needed a year on herceptin (every 3 weeks)
I have now just been told that i am not getting herceptin as the Nice Regs say you must have Chemo first
so now i am very confused and very angry as she insisted that i needed it and now 2 weeks later i dont.
Is there any one out there that has herceptin without chemo
valerie

Hi Val
Sorry to hear that you are confused. I’m not an expert but I did have herceptin and I do recall seeing and hearing on many occasions that you can only have herceptin if you have chemotherapy. I’m not sure if this is because it doesn’t work unless you have chemotherapy but I do known that having chemotherapy makes it more effective. I started it with my 4th lot of chemotherapy. I’m not surprised you are confused and they obviously haven’t explained their reasoning. Sounds like your BC is also hormonal hence the hormonal drugs.

I’m sure you’ll get responses from other more informed ladies.
Best wishes
Ruby x

Hi Valerie,

I think if your onc has told you one minute you will have herceptin and the next that you wont cos you have to have chemo first she is very naughty. I would have thought by now all oncs know that these are tne NICE regs. I think there are some noises being made about giving herceptin without chemo but don’t know how far that has got. It does seem a bit ridiculous now when they seem to consider it is ok to ‘just’ give a patient tamoxifen for 5 years without chemo and not consider that is sufficient to make it ok to give herceptin. I would want to ask her if my cancer was her2+++ was it safe not to give chemo at this stage. I don’t know anyone myself who has done it that way.

Dawn
xx

Hi Valerie