Triple Negative Breast Cancer

Hi Girls,

For all of you who are triple negative I wonder if u can help me, what has your treatment been? In which order?

Also did your periods stop? If so how soon and did they come back?

I’m only 33 have TNBC grade 3 stage 2a IDC, tumour measures at 43mm, I am booked in for a lumpectomy and sentinel lymph node biopsy on 6th August I am a little surprised my consultant is going straight for lumpectomy as thought 43mm was quite big but I’m sure he knows best he also said he’s not sure until lumpectomy results are back whether I will need chemo but this leaves me a little anxious as there is not much treatment for TNBC, any advice would be fantastic! Am curious about periods as I am 33 and although I have a child already my family is not yet complete so am worried about fertility and am pretty sure I don’t qualify for Fertility treatment on the NHS as I already have a child! So many questions sorry this is such a worrying and confusing time!

Thanks Lyndsey xx

Hi lyndseyloo

I’m sorry you haven’t had any replies as yet, but hopefully someone will now see this and reply to you.  In the meantime you might find it helpful to give our helpline team a ring and have a chat with them about your thoughts.  Calls are free 0808 800 6000 lines open weekdays 9-5 and Saturdays 10-2.

Take care,

Jo, Moderator

Hi, Lyndsey

Don’t apologise for asking questions, that’s what the site is for. Plus, we’ve all been where you are - scared and wanting answers. Hopefully, you’ll find them here.

I was diagnosed triple negative grade 3 on the 9th May. Had my lumpectomy and snb on the 5th June - 3 nodes taken out, all clear, thankfully - and I started my chemo FEC-100 on the 8th July.

I think the doctor went for a lumpectomy because I’d found the lump quite quickly. I guess, in these matters we must bow to their experience. I would say, however, if you’re unsure or want to know why he/she made the choices they did for you, you should ask.