under breast soreness

Hello there I am very new to this world of talking into the ether so here goes. I finished my radiotherapy on 16/12/09 and was told by my oncologist that large breasted ladies usually faired worse than small breasted. I now have severe soreness under my breast and am almost finished(Sunday)using the cream (flamazine) I was given by the radiographers. I am wondering what to use after this treatment runs out if I am still as sore yours Jancie

Jancie , get to your BC nurse and get some more cream. You continue to ‘cook’ for 14 days post the last day of treatment. If you can try and get some gel pads from your BC nurse. Is the soreness from the fold of skin? Another dressing that is good is called mepilex transfer, they are a bit expensive, but are fantastic, they are very thin foam squares with a slightly sticky side but let the skin breath. I used them on the underneath of my breast when my skin began to crack. If the skin breaks don’t use aqueos cream as it can cause infection. Have you been given Aloe vera gel, its soothing and healing but can be a little drying.

Rhian x

Hi Janice
I was given 1% Hydrocortisone cream by the hospital which worked well on the affected bit. My skin didn’t break but was red, itchy and generally sore under the boob. I have large boobs and found underneath was the worst place. I gave up on bras for all day, just when I was going out. At home I wore cami vests with a bit of support.
Hope it isn’t too bad.
Good luck
Margaret

thanks for the comments ladies I actually am doing things that you both suggest i.e. no bra and mepilex dressings. My worry is that it’s Bank Holiday until Tuesday and was told to use the Flamazine for 7-10 days which means I should stop today but I just seem to be starting to heal now, so I am uncertain as to where to go for advice.Once again thanks for the support. Jancie

Hi Rhian