waiting for radiotherapy

Hi 

I’m new to this discussion forum and ant to say hi to everyone and need some help with a worry I have.

Has anyone else experienced a long wait in between surgery and radiotherapy. I was diagnosed with grade 3 breast cancer in November last year and had a second operate on 8th January as margins weren’t clear. I saw medical oncologist in February who prescribed anastomosis. I have another appointment on the 18th of this month to see clinical oncologist to discuss radiotherapy which I’m told I will have. It just seems a long time since my surgery as all the guidelines say usually 4 to 6 weeks after surgery. I’m worried that it will affect the outcome. 

Regards

Hi Kathy and welcome to the BCC forums

In addition to the support you will find here our helpliners are on hand with practical and emotional support on 0808 800 6000 and lines are open weekdays 9-5 and Saturday 10-2

You may find the BCC radiotherapy Information helpful in the meantime:

breastcancercare.org.uk/breast-cancer-information/treating-breast-cancer/radiotherapy

Take care
Lucy BCC

Evening

I had surgery April 2013, no clear margins. Mastectomy 6 June 2013.  Didn’t have Radiotherapy until 8 August  2013 for 15 sessions. This was 9 weeks later,  i do think the ideal would be 4/6 weeks following surgery but you need to be sure skin has healed before Rads planning.  

Hope this is helpful.   Take Care   Gilly x

Just noticed my kindle changed words! I’m taking anastrozol. Must check in future.

Regards

Kathy

I had my lumpectomy on 29th January, got my result on 13th February and was told I would need radiotherapy and I would see oncologist in about 2 weeks, as I heard nothing from oncology I called them yesterday and I now have an appointment on Wednesday 12th. I will let everyone now if he gives me a date for my radiotherapy. I also have a bone scan on the 13th.