weight gain

I have been tqking tomoxofen for 4 years and have gained a lot of weight which i cannot seem to loose. I have been dieting and exercising for ages and only loose very little every week if anything.

Oh joy. Got thank to look forward to then … Sorry can’t help, but I’m sure people will be along soon.
xx

I took tamoxifen for about 16 months. I did gain weight, have hot flushes and then also developed a polyp which I had to have removed. As I was then deemed to be post menopausal, I was put on Arimidex. I had quite bad joint pain and stiffness but these to be subsiding after 18 months or so. The hot flushes aren’t so bad now and FINALLY the weight seems to be shifting off. I was quite fed up about the weight as I had controlled it very well through weight watchers for about 5 years.
It’s a slow business but stick with it and hopefully you’ll find that your body adjusts itself. The trouble is, all these things are different for everyone.
Good luck.

I wish I could blame the Tamoxifen (been taking it for 6 months now), but think that it is actually the choccie muffins for breakfast and the Kitkat with my morning coffee, and the cherry beer that I discovered in Tesco! I just seem to have lost the incentive to worry about my weight despite the fact that I am E+ and know that I should be controlling it. Arrgghh!!!

Jacqui

Hello

I was on tamoxifen for 5 years and the weight that I put on whilst on chemo, rads etc stayed on for the entire 5 years no matter how hard I tried to lose it.
I have been on Femara for nearly 2 years and have lost weight and nearly back to my pre BC weight.
I don’t think I have changed my diet although I do try to eat healthily.
I comfort ate whilst travelling to hospital and during treatment(my husband who came with me also put on the weight) and then the Tamoxifen didn’t exactly help me lose it.

One thing that I tried to do was to drink at least 1 1/2 litres a day which I find very beneficial.

Hazel