What do I need to know about my chemotherapy?

I was diagnosed with small areas of ER- HER2+ in June (mainly in DCIS). I had a wide local excision at the end of July. (I previously had DCIS in my other breast with a mastectomy and no further treatment)

I met with my consultant last week who said he was happy with how surgery had gone, I had clear margins and the sentinel node biopsy was clear.

The next stage is chemotherapy and herceptin. I was told by my bcn that oncology were running about at 60 days for an appointment however I then got a letter in the post giving me an appointment at the end of this month.

So I am trying to get my head around the whole chemo thing. I read threads on here about the different drugs given, cold caps, special diets, temperature taking, etc and everyone seems so knowledgeable. How much of this is self-taught or learned here and how much will I be told when I meet the oncologist?

2 Likes

Why don’t you join the September chemo monthly thread , hopefully someone a little bit further along will be able to help answer your questions ?
I’ve not had chemo myself but I would imagine people get their information in all
the ways you mention.

2 Likes

Hey @scientistamafier :wave: I’m sorry you find yourself on the chemo journey but I know you will get lots of support from this forum. I am mid-way through chemo at the moment.

You usually have a pre-chemo appointment with your breast care nurse/oncologist and they explain the likely side effects of your treatment and things to be aware of (i.e high temp) and you sign a consent form to agree to the treatment. They give you information to take away and will give you a telephone number to ring incase you have certain side effects.