Will I need chemo?

Hi all, I’m new to this whole thing, so need a bit of guidance! I was diagnosed last week with invasive ductal carcinoma (sorry if I’m not using the right abbreviations - I just know what they told me!), and met with the surgeon who said I would have a Wide Local Excision, plus lobular biopsy and reconstruction. Booked in for surgery on 18 June. All this would be followed 6 weeks later by a course of radiotherapy. So far so good, just got my head round that lot, and spent the week organising childcare (I’m a single mum) and cover at work (teacher).
Went for my pre-op yesterday and the nurse said that in her opinion, due to my age (45) and the fact that it’s Grade 3 (which I didn’t know), I am likely also to need chemotherapy. She did say though that because there was no indication at this stage that the cancer had spread to my lymph nodes, it wasn’t a certainty, but that I should be prepared for it.
This has really knocked me for six, and it’s all I’ve been able to think about since yesterday. Why this should be any more worrying, I don’t know, whether it’s because it means the whole process will go on even longer, maybe it’s because it’s all starting to seem very real now, or maybe it’s because there seems that there will be more obvious physical signs (I like my hair…always hated my boobs anyway!!)
Is this really the case? Am I likely to need both? How will I cope through the entire summer and into the Autumn on my own with an 8-year-old?
Thanks all, and best wishes to everyone.

Dear Susanlovelace,

Didn’t just want to read and run, so here’s my little bit to get your query bumped onto the main page. So sorry to hear that you’ve had to join us all here, but you’ll find lots of support, whatever steps you find yourself going through.