Will it make any difference?

Hi,
I’m awaiting further investigations into likely bone metastases.
I’m wondering if dietary changes such as drinking green tea, eating dark chocolate and berries, fasting and giving up alcohol can slow down progression of Mets in the same way that they may prevent recurrence of primary bc.
Hoping for your thoughts or advice you have been given xx

2 Likes

Im sorry about the situation you’re in at the moment. Dr Liz O’Riordan has podcasts about diet/cancer info etc that you may find useful. From everything I’ve looked at (and I’m no expert - have just been looking at trusted sources), dietary changes that you have outlined don’t have a direct link to slowing anything down. I haven’t seen any strong evidence of this or heard of it anywhere. However, it is important to stay as fit and healthy as you can and making some healthier dietary choices and cutting alcohol down certainly won’t do any harm. It might be useful for you to phone the helpline to speak to a nurse though as they’ll have more experience/may be able to offer more advice?

1 Like

Thank you for your reply xx

1 Like

Hi, sorry about the situation.

I sometimes look at this site for food and breast cancer, it is reliable (and cover primary and metastaticbreast cancer):

Alchool is not good in big quantity for any kind of breast cancer, but especially to mostly avoid for Er+. I have Er+ and sometimes i do drink a small beer :grin:

Other than that a ealthy diet, low in saturated fat, and rich in veggies and legumes should be the best I read…and exercize.

Good luck and best wishes for everything!!

1 Like

Thank you Amel, :pray:
Yes, I used that site during my primary treatment and found it very useful.
I’ll have another look at it.
My alcohol intake has been creeping up since lockdown and I didn’t do anything about it as I thought I was so far away from my original diagnosis that I was ‘cured’. I regret that now, of course.