Work & RT

Hi all
Am still @work but feeling shattered now. Half way through RT. Feeling sore & down. Boss could not care less she is female by the way!
Not sure how much longer I can carry on doinf full day. Any advice from anyone that understands wd be welcome.
Love Alis

Hi

I finished my RT in March and the last week (I had 3 weeks) I went part time to help with tiredness.

You are covered by the Equality Act & employers have to make reasonable adjustments. I’d have a chat with your RT team at your next session & to be quite honest ask to see a doctor & get signed off.

Fatigue effects us all differently & I got away quite lightly; I worked full-time for first 2 weeks & only needed a couple of days after. But I did go onto “light duties” until I felt more my old self.

Hope this helps
Take care
Lynne

I also think BC is covered by the Disability and Discrimination Act, my employer has arranged for me to work from home during my treatment, I work in the private sector and beleive me, they would not do this if they did not have an obligation to do so, I probably wouldn’t even have a job now. I gave them a copy of the Breat cancer Care Employers Charter which seemed to do the trick!

During chemo I am working part time as signed off by my GP and my consultant surgeon also sent them a letter. There is also evidence that people who continue to work whilst having treatment have a better recovery and prognosis. I self cert when I feel too ill to work so I get statutory sick pay as my company does not pay sick pay.

Trying to balance work with treatment can be very difficult, good luck and I hope you can sort things with your boss.

DaisyGirl xx

Hi