Work

I’m not sure if my post worked. Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on work? I am a full time teacher and my school has been excellent so far. I am thinking in terms of six months off for chemo and then more if I have surgery. Is it realistic to think in terms of going back to work while managing bone mets and treatment after that?

Hello Anne

Maybe I’m speaking out if turn but so many ladies here are teachers …it must be all the stress !! Not me though I’m retired but was a legal cashier but stressful!
I think you must just see how u go with work …have the time off for chemo and then maybe a phase back to work then ?
Take a day at a time …don’t run before you can walk as my mum used to say !!
Hugs xx

Two colleagues of mine have also recently been treated. They said the same - so many teachers!

Morning Anne

It is possible regarding work. I had 6 months off when going through treatment then had a gradual return to work.

Worked till my retirement at 63. Diagnosed breast and bone mets at same time age 57.

Bone mets is seen as a chronic illness not a death sentence. Can live for years with it.

Good luck with treatment.

Linda

Thank you! That’s so encouraging. I like work and having worked all the time my children were growing up and having to juggle it’s been good just focusing on work. Now I’ve got work and cancer but encouraging to know it may be doable. Thank you

Hi Anne.  I was diagnosed with secondaries last July and I have continued to work full-time. When I had my primary a few years ago I did have some time off for surgery but did manage to work part-time through chemo. My work was very accomadating.  These days I go once a month to get my denosamab injection. It does mean I am a couple of hours late in that day but apart from that treatment (so far) as not effected my work. I am on letrozole and ibrance so only need to take two pills. One in the morning and one in the evening. At the moment all perfectly do-able.xx