Working during chemotherapy

I have now had first of FEC/T 12 days ago and am feeling quite well now. Can anyone tell me if they work in between the next course of treatment. I thought of maybe going back to work for last week before having 2nd chemo.

Hi Annette
I worked between chemo’s. I generallly had a week off for the chemo and then worked the other 2 weeks. But, I could work from home when I wanted and only work 3.5 days a week. Also, I could avoid people when I was worried about the risk of infection.
Although you feel well, your white-blood count could still be quite low (mine was low until at least day 18 when I was on FEC). So if your job involves seeing alot of people (supermarket, library etc) or working with children (who are bound to be full of colds at this time of year), you may want to take the whole of your treatment period off.
Sue

Hiya…I worked throughout chemo as I needed to retain a level of ‘normality’. I work in a school but not directly with pupils, so provided I stayed at home during the ‘nadir’ period when immune system was lowest days 10-14 on FEC and days 7-10 on TAX, my Onc said I could work when I felt like it. My Headteacher was very supportive and flexible, and kept me supplied with antibac hand gel!!! I usually managed at least 7 or 8 days out of the 15 days between chemo, although it did get harder, particularly when I changed to TAX. I went back full time 2 weeks after my last TAX in June, worked through radiotherapy (until the summer holidays!) and have returned full time in September, and to be honest apart from a few niggling ongoing side effects chemo is a distant memory!! I fully appreciate that everyone is unique and approaches situations differently, so you must do what feels right for you :slight_smile: I personally could not have stayed at home for months, as having to get up and face a day’s work was what I needed, and I would have found part-time or a phased return more challenging! Listen to your body, talk to your e