worried

The waiting is driving me nuts… I found a lump in my breast about 3 weeks ago, I thought it was prob nothing and might be related to my cycle but as I have a Mirena coil fitted this is hard to tell.

My partner also felt the lump and made me see my GP. I was convinced the GP was going to say there was nothing there but as soon as he put his hand on my breast he felt the lump, he was very nice but said that he wanted me to be seen by the breast clinic as soon as possible. His tone has left me very concerned, he said that at the first appointment they will prob do a triple test, mammogram, us and fine needle biopsy - is this correct?

Due to all the bank holidays they can’t see me at the clinic until the 4th of May. I am desperately trying not to worry, I am in my final year of a social work degree and have two big deadlines in the next few weeks and also have got to complete my placement which means going to work. I just want to hide I am finding it really difficult to be in any social situations.

It may sound ridiculous but I am really worried that if I get a BC diagnosis that I will not be able to finish my degree, my dissertation is due on the 13th June. I have already interviewed and accepted a job which I am due to start in August. The pressure is huge.

Even though it is more likely to be nothing I feel I need to be organised and prepared for a bad result - does that make sense?

Anyway enough rambling so many questions, like is going to be possible for me to complete my degree if the result is BC. And do I need to inform my future employers if the result is positive, could they retract their offer?

Thanks for reading my post

Hi there triflemoon

Firstly, welcome to the forums, I’m sure you will find them a friendly and supportive place.

Whilst you’re waiting for responses, I just wanted to say that waiting for appointments is always an difficult and anxious time, it’s perfectly normal to feel the way you do.