Xeloda

Hi,

I have just got my results for my CT Scan. It seems like my cancer is “all over the place but don’t worry”. If honest I spoke with my BCN and she says not to worry so I won’t from what she has told me it is not tumours but “deposits” I think she said.I have been told to stop taking examastene and then in two weeks start on Xeloda or its proper name Capecitabine. I am not very good with chemo. The last time I had chemo in 2006 I went into a diabetic coma which was not supposed to happen, so a bit nervous.

I am also worried about hair loss etc.

Any help out there for me?

Hi Marcie,
What a strange description they gave you! Hope you are coping with the news that it has spread. It’s always a shock, even if you already have secondaries (not sure if you did).
I spent yesterday afternoon with four ladies from this site who are on Xeloda - I am sure they will be along later and give you their point of view. They all have their hair, although I think thinning can be a problem. I gather the worst thing is the ‘foot and hand’ syndrome - dreadful dry, sore and cracked hands and feet. There was lots of chat about different creams to try, and slathering cream or manuka honey on and going to bed with socks on! Sounds sticky!
Hope you get on okay with it,
love Jacquie x

It is rare to loose your hair with Xeloda. Many people, including myself have had very good results from this chemo, which can be taken orally as well as intravenously. Like most chemos, it does have its side effects, but some people do not suffer any of them. I think the most common are diarrhea and hand foot syndrome. I myself am on my 8th cycle and i have had the hand foot syndrome quite badly (otherwise I feel really well and have had no other side effects) but scans have shown it to be working, so they are reducing my dose to try and combat the side effect.

Everyone is different, but many have done very well on Xeloda, I am sure you will get many more replies saying the same.

JUMPFORJOY