FEC chemo starts next week

Hi ladies, I am new to this but wanted to meet people going through the same experiences.

I have had my surgery but next week I have my first FEC chemo and I’m very nervous about what to expect? Will I be sick? Will I gain weight (just lost 30 pounds with weight watchers and would be so upset if I put any back on)

I live alone so wanted to be prepared for all eventualities!! Any advise would be most appreciated.

Hi Foxy

As someone who also lost quite a bit of weight recently I can sympathise. I’m halfway through my chemo and have put on a few pounds (probably more alcohol related to be honest)!

You will be given steroids which can make you hungrier. I’ve not done weight watchers, but I can tell you that if you could maybe follow slimming world for the duration of your chemo, you will be able to eat large amounts of food and probably still maintain or lose weight whilst on chemo.

I think once you get started, you will find that the couple of days following chemo are the ones that make you want to eat the fridge. I got by eating pittas, humous and salad…never eaten humous before, but craved it!

I’m just concentrated on getting this treatment out of the way then I’ll work on getting rid of the last stone or so…good luck

Hi Foxy,
I’ve just had my 5th FEC,and all i can say is that none of them have been the same.Some i have coped better with than others.You should get to see your onc regurarly and don’t be shy telling him/her exactly how you are feeling as they can make adjustments to your meds so that you don’t suffer too badly.

As regards the weight,well i’m looking on it like having a baby,nine months of treatment and i’ll get into shape again afterwards.I’ve gained weight as i refuse to deny myself food as i enjoy it,and i deserve some pleasure during this difficult time.

Wishing you all the best for the first one

Tracey

Hi Foxy

I have had my 5th FEC and have been sick for the first day for all of them.