Newly diagnosed with DCIS

Newly diagnosed with DCIS

Newly diagnosed with DCIS Hi, I am new to all this! I was diagnosed with DCIS 3 weeks ago, have seen the surgeon, who recommends a mastectomy and reconstruction (Tram flap) -at- the same time!! The question is, when the OP will happen, as I am -at- the early stages of bc. I won’t need any chemo or radio., so thats a good thing, but how do I carry on from here, if my OP is not for weeks and weeks???

Hi Scorpion Welcome to the site…i too was diagnosed with dcis nearly 2 months ago now…had no idea when my mastectomy and diep recon would be…after waiting 3 weeks i got a date…its come round really quickly…next thursday is d day.
The waiting is the worst part…but i felt so much better once i had a date to aim for and knew my cancer was contained still.
I dont know how far away yours is …i have heard of ladies waiting 3 months…
Ive spent the time sorting out the families life etc for next 2 months as wont be much of a mummy to my little ones for a bit…
my plastic surgeon had a full diary but must have juggled things as i wasnt expecting a date til july/aug…
Really hope you find out your date soon…just knowing really helps…my op requires 2 plastic surgeons and a general surgeon…so i think its the getting them all available at once to operate which takes the time…
Hope my ramble helps…
Anna xx

scorpion and annafizz hi
i have been waiting since january for either masectomy or wle to achieve clear margins with radoitherapy and know how bad you must be feeling you do stop pacing the floor eventually and everything calms down.
i have found it is then you start to take in things. i have LCIS and grade 1 stage 1 tubular ductal cancer with no lymph involvement and still do not know which root i am going to take but have been told i can pospone until august!! at the beginning i would of been hysterical at the mere thought of this but as the weeks have gone on it doesnt seem as scary.